Announcing the appointment of Jinoos Yazdany as chief of the UCSF Division of Rheumatology at ZSFG

Subject: Announcing the appointment of Jinoos Yazdany as chief of the UCSF Division of Rheumatology at ZSFG


Dear Colleagues,

We are thrilled to announce the appointment of Jinoos Yazdany, MD, MPH as the new Chief of the UCSF Division of Rheumatology at Zuckerberg San Francisco General Hospital (ZSFG).

Jinoos Yazdany, MD, MPH

Dr. Yazdany is Associate Professor of Medicine and the Robert L. Kroc Endowed Chair in Rheumatic and Connective Tissue Diseases at UCSF. She received her undergraduate degree from Stanford University, her medical degree from UCLA, and her MPH from Harvard University. After completing internal medicine residency and fellowship in rheumatology at UCSF, she joined our faculty in 2006. As a rheumatologist specializing in systemic lupus, she has practiced at ZSFG and co-directs the UCSF Health Lupus Clinic.


Dr. Yazdany’s scholarship focuses on improving health care quality, safety and outcomes for individuals with chronic rheumatic diseases. She co-directs the UCSF Rheumatology Quality and Informatics Lab, an interdisciplinary group that uses health services research, informatics, and implementation science to inform national health care improvement initiatives. She has led the development of the American College of Rheumatology’s Rheumatology Informatics System for Effectiveness (RISE), a national electronic health record-enabled registry that aggregates and analyzes data from rheumatology practices around the country to inform quality improvement and research projects. She has developed a number of quality measures that have been endorsed by the National Quality Forum (NQF) and are being used in federal programs. She is currently the PI of grants from the NIH/NIAMS, AHRQ, and CDC and the recipient of a NIAMS K24 mentoring award. Dr. Yazdany also serves as co-director of a research core – one focused on human subjects recruitment and clinical informatics support – for the NIH/NIAMS-funded P30 UCSF PREMIER Center.


Nationally, Dr. Yazdany has held numerous leadership positions, including serving as co-chair of the ACR’s Quality Measures Subcommittee, chair of the ACR’s Registries and Health IT Committee, chair of Research for the RISE registry, and member of the NQF’s Health Professional Council. She has earned several honors and awards for her work, including the Mary Betty Stevens Young Investigator Prize from the Lupus Foundation of America, the Ephraim Engleman Award for Arthritis Research, and the Hulda Irene Duggan Arthritis Investigator Award from the Arthritis Foundation.

Please join us in welcoming Dr. Yazdany to her new leadership role, which will begin on July 1.

We sincerely thank Dr. David Pearce (search committee chair), and the other members of the search committee: Drs. Erin Amerson, Lindsey Criswell, Jeffrey Critchfield, David Daikh, Joel Ernst, Sarah Goglin, Priscilla Hsue, Jeffrey Lotz and John Metcalfe. We also thank Dr. John Imboden for his many years of dedicated leadership of the UCSF Division of Rheumatology at ZSFG.






Neil R. Powe, MD, MPH, MBA

Chief of Medicine, Zuckerberg San Francisco General Hospital

Constance B. Wofsy Distinguished Professor and

Vice-Chair of Medicine, University of California San Francisco

Zuckerberg San Francisco General Hospital





Robert M. Wachter, MD

Professor and Chair, Department of Medicine
Holly Smith Distinguished Professor in Science and Medicine
Marc and Lynne Benioff Endowed Chair